Graham Greene (Henry Graham Greene) | First Editions

1904 - 1991

Henry Graham Greene OM CH (2 October 1904 – 3 April 1991), better known by his pen name Graham Greene, was an English novelist and author, and is regarded as one of the most popular writers of the 20th century. Combining literary acclaim with widespread popularity, Greene acquired a reputation early in his lifetime as a major writer, both of serious Catholic novels, and of thrillers (or, as Greene referred to them, "entertainments"). His writing career spanned 67 years, in which he wrote 25 novels.

In 1967, Greene was shortlisted for the Nobel Prize for Literature. He has also collected several literary awards for his novels, including: the Hawthornden Prize for The Power and the Glory (1941), the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for The Heart of the Matter (1948), the Shakespeare Prize (1968), and the Jerusalem Prize - a biennial literary award given to writers whose works have dealt with themes of human freedom in society (1981). In 1986, Greene was awarded Britain's Order of Merit. His legacy lives on through the Graham Greene International Festival - an annual four-day event of conference papers, informal talks, question and answer sessions, films, dramatised readings, music, creative writing workshops and social events.

See below our stock of Graham Greene First Editions, fine bindings, sets and other collectible material.